I occasionally get these cravings for cake, but I’m going to be honest — it never tastes as good as it sounds. I’m not a cake girl, never have been. C is for cookie and that’s good enough for meeee OHHHH cookie cookie cookie starts with C is my song on baking nights. So when I got a cake craving last week, I decided to try something different. Forget that spongey crumbly mess most cakes become — I went for a vegan chocolate cake, and oh my lovely life, this cake is wonderful.

I used two round cakes, layered, with candied oranges in the middle and ganache all around, served with orange pineapple icecream. Yum yum. Give it a shot!

Vegan Chocolate Cake

  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 1 C white sugar
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 C vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 C water
  1. Mix the dry stuff, then mix in the wet stuff.
  2. Bake in two round cake tins (you don’t even need to greese them! I’ll give you a moment to celebrate.) at 350 degrees F (that’s 175 C for my european friends) for 45 minutes or until a toothpick in the center comes clean. You know the drill. Let it cool completely before icing.

Orange Chocolate Ganache

  • 10-12 oz. bittersweet Orange Chocolate, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 C  water, milk, cream, or, to make it super fun, use pulp-free OJ
  • 1/2 stick butter (the general call is for unsalted, but quite honestly, I ALWAYS cook with salted butter and it still tastes fabulous, so IMO do what you want)
  1. Heat the chocolate and the liquid in a double boiler (or a heat-proof bowl over a pan of simmering water) until the chocolate is melted completely.
  2. Remove from heat and add the butter in chunks, whisking briskly until the ganache is as smooth as you can get it.
  3. Let it cool to room temp, then spread it on. Ganache keeps well in the fridge for a few days, or you can freeze it for later, just make sure it’s room temperature before starting to ice your cake, or else you’ll end up with gooey crumbs.  😉

Serve and enjoy! Let us know what you think!

