Remember how I said once I liked cookies more than anything else? Well, the reason why is this: since I was barely old enough to “help” in the kitchen, my mom bought me my very own apron and hot mit, baking set, and a stool so that I could stand at the counter and bake with her. We always made Chocolate Chip Drops from Joy of Cooking, but no matter how many times my mom and I have made them over the years, each batch turns out different. Proof that a plain old cookie can always surprise you.

But here’s the thing. Sure, we use a recipe from a cook book. Sure, the recipe itself is from the 1940s and obviously a tried and true cookie. But in my house, we break the rules. Bad. Sure, you could use crisco to make the cookies fluffy. Or butter to make them crunchy. But in my house, we break the rules. And I know once you read the ingredients you are going to wrinkle your nose and think I’m an awful excuse for a baker, but it’s kindof like eating fries with a Wendy’s frosty or eating peanut butter and butter together, hell, it’s like putting cheddar cheese in bread pudding (yum, btw), the tastes just blend, so trust me, okay?

And for the love of god, don’t think about how many calories you consume in piping hot cookies straight out of the oven…

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Joy of Cooking ft. Old School Ingredients

Preheat the oven to 375. Use 2 cookie sheets.

Whisk together:
1 cup plus 2 Tbs all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda

Beat in a large bowl until well-blended:

2/3 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup bacon fat. Yeah. You heard me.
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar

Add and beat until well combined:
1 large egg
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Stir in the flour mixture until well-blended and smooth. Stir in 1 cup chocolate chips.

Drop the dough in spoonfuls on the cookie sheets. (These cookies spread out, so don’t put too many on a sheet or you’ll get one big cookie. Much harder to share. Wait, why haven’t I done that yet?!) Bake, 1 sheet at a time, until the cookies are just slightly colored on top and the edges are brown, about 8 minutes. Let stand briefly, then remove to a rack to cool (or burn your fingers eating them, like I do).

