I wrote this on my old, forgotten blog, which I intend to delete, but I wanted to save this for sharing (and for personal use later. MMMM)

“My roommate’s boyfriend wandered into the kitchen the other night and after observing my tomato-slicing prowess labeled me “the Queen of Making Delicious-Looking Salads.” However, I’m not entirely sure that title is quite appropriate. Most of the time I just throw stuff together and call it ‘dinner’, and when I am making something extra special, it’s because I stole it from someone else. But really, who doesn’t steal – or rather, borrow and perfect – recipes. Honestly. So I’m going to run with it.

The following salad is not the one that earned me my title, but none the less, it is absolutely amazing, and for some reason screams ‘SPRING’ to me (though the fact that it’s Easter but snow outside may have a bit to do with it – 60 degrees and sun, come back, come back). Either way, this salad makes me want to slip on some shorts and go for a hike/picnic and munch on this once I reach the summit. Too bad I’m not into hiking.   :)

Almost Spring Salad

baby greens

red bell pepper, thinly sliced

avocado, chopped, chunky

1/4 Cup (ish) of almonds, chopped

1/4 Cup (ish) of grapes, sliced in half

1/4 Cup (ish) orange, peeled and diced

onion, sliced

1 clove garlic, sliced

Wake-Up Call Dressing

1/2 Cup olive oil

1/2 Cup white wine vinegar

2 T brown sugar

1 T chives

1 T curry powder

1 clove garlic, sliced or minced

1 T soy sauce

