I have no idea what’s wrong with me.  I started out the day just fine.  Got up, got a silly boy a ticket to a football game, went to the gym, worked out, went back home, showered, got ready, went to my parents’ house, and watched some football.   The Utes beat Wyoming 30 to 6 and TCU spanked BYU (31 to 3).  All in all it was a good kind of day.  But somewhere along the way I got grumpy.  Really grumpy.

So now that I’ve made it home all I can do is find things to bitch about.  Things my roommate does, things the people who are in my group for MGT 5700 do (or don’t do), things I do.  Sheesh, its hard being me.  So I’ve decided to sit down and chow down on the leftover cookie dough from last night.  And speaking of last night, I made cookies.

And I found a nice chill song to try and mellow out to while I catch up on recipes.

http://silencenogood.net/electronica/lionheart-by-emancipator

 

 

Now that you have that to bake to here you are!  The recipe that I adapted last night for oatmeal(ish) cookies.  This is nothing like the oatmeal recipe that I usually use (one of my mama’s) but it was a fun diversion from the norm.  And besides, I couldn’t find my mama’s recipe anywhere.

Spicy Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip and Walnut Cookies

Note: This recipe is adapted from Smitten Kitchen’s version.  What I changed was instead of butter I used all vegetable shortening, walnuts instead of pecans, added 1/4 tsp. of both chili powder and chipotle powder instead of the cloves and orange zest.

1/2 cup vegetable shortening
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon chili powder and chipotle powder
1 cup quick-cooking oats
1 cup chopped walnuts
12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment or grease the cookie shet.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the shortening in a bowl until light and fluffy. Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla, and beat until well mixed, about three minutes.
  3. Stir in eggs, one at a time.
  4. Add half of the flour and all of the salt, soda and spices to the creamed shortening with the mixer on low speed. Once the flour has been incorporated, add the second half.
  5. Stir in the oats, walnuts, and chocolate chips. Drop the dough, by the tablespoon, onto the cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden.
  6. Remove from the oven and cool the cookies on a rack. Store at room temperature in a cookie jar or other airtight container.
