“Hey, how about dinner tonight? I’ll bring some stuff over?” reads a text I received a few days ago. It’s from Mark, my Aussie friend, who at some point very early in the getting-to-know-you stage discovered I like to cook. No, he wasn’t cooking for me (though that would be lovely, if anyone is thinking about it…:p ). Rather, he arrived and cracked a bottle of red as I proceeded to do one of the things I believe I do best – you guessed it. Cook. I’m so predictable it’s sad.

On the menu for the night was green beans, funeral potatoes, and steak.

Now, let’s face it, green beans are easy peasy and don’t need anything special to make them tasty. Just boil in some lightly salted water for a couple minutes. Butter on top, if you want, though my favorite is sauteing the beans in olive oil with some parsley and garlic. MMMmmmMMM.

Next, the Funeral potatoes, which are simple enough as well, and any google search will lend you a plethora of good recipes. The moral of the story is potatoes and cheese…lots of cheese.  The trouble is that this food is so good I eat all of it in one go…do with it as you wish.  Here’s the recipe I used, with a few minor tweaks (no sour cream, it don’t exist in this here part of the world. And I added onions too.)

http://www.feministmormonhousewives.org/?p=1335

Meanwhile, what I do really want to share is my foray into the world of red wine. I myself am more of a white girl myself (no pun intended), though I can handle a bit of rose.  But red wine? It gets me drunk and gives me a horrible headache (sulfites, I know), not to mention the cheap stuff you can buy here tastes exactly that – cheap. So I cheated a bit. Mark poured me a glass of wine and I drank it, chatting and being the generally sociable gal that I am. But sneaky sneaky me, my second glass did not go into my tummy right away, as you would think, but into a pan to simmer and make my kitchen smell oh-so-lovely. Pour my concoction onto a couple steaks, and you have a pretty hearty meal. Mark seemed pretty happy with it, though it would have been better if he’d cooked the steaks for me. Ah, well, a girl can dream, can’t she?

Steak with Red Wine Sauce

  • Preparation Time: 1o minutes
  • Cook Time: 5-10 minutes
  • Serves: 2
  • Frying pan for sauce, grill or another pan for the steaks

2 Steaks, any cut you like
1/2 C. beef broth (bullion cubes are your friend)
1/2 C. red wine
1 T onion, chopped
1/2 tsp. mustard
1 T. parsley
1 T. butter
salt and pepper

The Steps!

  1. Salt and pepper the steaks. Grill or fry them up to your desired cooked level.
  2. Fry up the butter, onion, and parsley until the onions are golden brown. Mix in the mustard.
  3. Pour the broth and wine into the pan and simmer until it starts to thicken. If you need to, you can put a bit of flour in to help the thickening process, though I found flour messed up the texture and I prefer to simple cook it a bit longer.
  4. Pour the sauce over the steaks and serve!
