Well kiddies, it’s Monday, which, as we all know, means: School, Responsibility, Homework, Work, No Fun. Well, at least until Tuesday, since that’s when I’m done for the week. Ahh, a hard life I do lead.

Now that I have my bragging quota filled for the day, I’d like to share with you an accomplishment of mine, which was fulfilled last week Thursday at approximately 5:30pm Amsterdam time. Okay okay, I lied, I didn’t fill my bragging quota, but this certainly will help. This girl, this lone, twenty-two year old, only child, small family, in over her head girl celebrated Thanksgiving. A full Thanksgiving, with enough food to feed 15 people. Which it did. A big thanks to Emily for the eggnog and mashed potatoes. A massive thank you to Sonia “Christine” who did the gravy, green bean casserole, and provided the cooking tunes and fabulous conversation. And a HUGE resounding thank you to my mom, who taught me how to make all the dishes and from whom I get my talent – tiny though it may be – for cooking.

So, to explain the epicness of this Thanksgiving Dinner, I will list each item that found its way to the table.

  • Biscuits
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Potato Salad
  • Red Cabbage with Bacon
  • Red Cabbage (vegetarian)
  • Lemon Brussel Sprouts
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Stuffing
  • Gravy
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Turkey (aka Chicken because Turkey is expensive in Europe)
  • Eggnog
  • Poffertjes
  • Cherry Vlaai
  • Apple Vlaai
  • Pumpkin Pie

All in all, the night was spectacular. I haven’t had that much fun cooking in a very very long time and to have so many people show up was even for amazing. I have never spent Thanksgiving with so many people, nor have I ever spent Thanksgiving away from home. My friends, you made my Thanksgiving still feel like a holiday, even though my mom and dad, Jo and Erica, my puppy, my car, etc are far away. I’ll see them soon, but for now, thank you thank you thank you to my adoptive family here in Holland. I couldn’t have had a better night and I love all of you from the bottom of my heart.

HHHOOOOOKAY! Now that the cheesy stuff is out of the way, who wants a recipe?! So, which should I share? My pumpkin pie recipe? The secret of my red cabbage? My stuffing discoveries? Ah, I know. The hit of the night, though the easiest part of the whole feast. All that was missing was some honey. Try these at home. Trust me, you’ll die of happiness, provided you eat them RIGHT.OUT.OF.THE.OVEN. Like cookies. Only better. Yeah, you heard me. Better.

Old School Biscuits

Preheat oven to 450

Stir together:

  • 1 3/4 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 Tsp baking powder (NOT soda)

Cut into the flour with pastry blender or two knives until like coarse cornmeal:

  • 4-6 T chilled butter or lard or both

Make a well and add all at once:

  • 3/4 C cold milk

Stir until fairly free of bowl. Turn onto floured surface and GENTLY knead, making 5-6 folds. Roll out to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut with biscuit cutter, cut into squares, or roll into individual balls.

Bake 12-15 minutes on ungreased sheet.

The key to good biscuits is to handle minimally. Stir only to moisten, knead gently.

